≡ Menu

2012 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport – Edmonton Review

Today I’m reviewing  a 2012 Dodge Ram 1500 sport.  We’re gonna do a quick walk around and then take you for a test drive.

So here’s some quick facts about this truck.

It’s equipped with a 5.7 liter Hemi V8, produces 390 Hp and it’s rated by Transport Canada in an astonishing 28 mpg (highway).

It has a very advanced engine control system, that’s  called MDS.  It shuts down four cylinders when they are not needed.  As soon as the vehicle is up to speed, and all the 390 ponies aren’t needed, it seamlessly becomes a four-cylinder truck.  There’s a little icon that pops up on the dash, letting you know you’re in economy mode.

But don’t worry about this truck being wimpy.  Press your right foot down and instantly all eight cylinders start firing so quickly that it’s impossible to tell.

One of my favorite options on this truck is the Ram box.  This little compartment opens on both sides, uses some nice storage, it’s fully lockable, and keeps all your stuffs nice and safe.

Another fuel-saving feature is the all-new six-speed automatic transmission.  It’s new for 2012.  It’s even smoother than its 5-speed predecessor.  And that extra gear ensures that you’ve  maximum power  and efficiency, no matter what speed you’re traveling or how much you’re pulling.

It’s also the only full-sized truck that has coil-rear wheel suspension.

So what does that mean to you?

Great ride and handling, I would argue the best in the class, without compromising towing and hauling capability.  This truck drives with the refinement of a luxury SUV but it can pull over 10,000 pounds.

Enough talking about features.  Let’s go for a drive.

What a beautiful day for a drive.  You know, I get to drive these trucks all the time but it never ceases to amaze me how great they ride.

I started driving trucks probably 20 years ago and they sure have come a long way.

Now, let’s talk about the interior.  Let’s face it.  The interior of Dodge trucks is not always been a great selling feature.  But not anymore.

The features and the fit and finish of this interior (are) nothing short of luxurious.

This model is equipped with heat and cold seats.  (Great feature for our Edmonton winters.)

It even has a heated steering wheel.  Dual zone climate control, (just set it and forget it)

Touch-screen control, satellite radio, CD, most of these are even equipped with a built-in hard drive that you can store your music on.

It also got a navigation system, and a  Bluetooth system that can be set up with your phone in less than 60 seconds.

And take a look at this back-up camera.  No more challenges hooking up to a trailer.

Did you know that Consumer Digest rated this truck “a best buy” in 2011?

Hopefully you enjoyed riding along with me today.  But to properly appreciate this truck, you gotta drive one for yourself.

Thanks.  Have a great day!

 

Scott Held

{ 17 comments… add one }
  • Calvin November 26, 2012, 10:46 pm

    Just bought a new 2012 1500 sport. Broke her in gently for the first 600 km. Played a little yesterday. She does have lots of power. Can’t seen to wipe this smile off my face.

  • Admin November 19, 2012, 6:44 pm

    On the 2012 rams some have the u-conect and some don’t.

    The hoods come with the sport appearance pkg as well as sport hood.

    If you send me the vin on your truck I will gladly help you out !

    Brad McDonald

  • joseph hank November 17, 2012, 7:52 pm

    I got a question, we bought a 2012 Dodge Ram quad sport,
    just wondering if there’s suppose to be a light in the dash and a USB.
    The headlights really need to be brighter.
    Is the Uconnect suppose to be an original part or is it an accessory that you must pay extra for the 2012 ram quad sport.
    is the hood plain or a sport.

  • glenn November 15, 2012, 9:11 am

    I got my first dodge in February the best mileage I got from the 121 liter tank was around 675 mpg that’s doing around 105km on the hwy awesome. anyone knows what ford stands for…

    Ford Owners Recommend Dodge. Everyone enjoy your Dodge. Best trucks on the market.

  • Big Bill October 23, 2012, 1:42 pm

    I just bought a 2012 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport Crew Cab and its hard to believe how much power this 5.7 Hemi has. The drive on this pick-up is so amazing that its hard to believe a pick-up this smooth. All my friends have Ford 150 pick-ups and they always say to me don’t buy a dodge. BUT!!!!! once you try the Ram you can KISS your ford goodbye. The Dodge Ram Kills it on every aspect.
    For me its like buying a Dodge Challenger that was transformed into a pick-up.

  • paulbalice October 19, 2012, 10:20 am

    Luv my 2012 dodge ram 1500 sport very good on gas with lots of speed.

  • Sebastien September 3, 2012, 12:10 pm

    Got my first pick-up 2 weeks ago… or should I say got my very own RAM !!!! 😀

    I too the outdoorsman because of the 121L fuel tank and the protection plates under the transmission and the direction! …should come in handy when I start scratching the big boy up in the Quebec woods! 🙂

    this is my second vehicle.. had a mazda protege 2001 before and I have to say my RAM scared the crap out of me on the highway !!! I sure as hell wasn’t expecting this much power !!! I mean come on, I can push mustangs on the highway !!!! The HEMI is sooooooooo good!! 🙂

    Gas wise… hard to tell….. but I can say that working downtown montreal costs me about 50$ a week worth of gas.. stop and go really kills the average !!!

    Overall… I’ll sell everything I got (and I DO mean everything!) before I sell my big boy :)))

    like we say here in Quebec,

    le ciel est bleu,
    la mere est calme,
    farme ta yeule pis RAM!!!!!!!!! 😉 hehehe

  • David Tingley March 26, 2012, 7:11 pm

    I can see why you are selling so many of these Scott.

  • Admin March 11, 2012, 6:32 pm

    Yes Dean we too are very pleased with the fuel efficiency of the 2012 model.

    Word’s out. They are selling like crazy !

    Thank you for your comments.

    For Scott,

    Sales Team
    Sherwood Dodge

  • dean March 11, 2012, 5:04 pm

    So far a great truck. Owned a 2007 Laramie and loved it except for the fuel..ouch… So far the 2012 crew sport has been great on fuel, even in the cold Saskatchewan weather. The six speed transmission is great. If your looking for a new truck, don’t hesitate to take the 2012 ram for a spin. You wont be disappointed.

  • Mark February 21, 2012, 5:46 pm

    Just to let people know these Dodge Ram trucks are really gorgeous,smooth ride,powerful and great gas mileage ! I bought a 2012 Dodge Ram 1500 quad cab sport and I get better average mpg than my brother in lawss 2012 Ford F-150 6 cyl eco-boost,plus I can beat him stop light to stop light !

    I really loved my 2003 Dodge Ram after 270,000 trouble free km orig motor orig trans,I am not worried about reliability of my new Dodge and my gas mileage went up and did my horsepower from 345 to 390,unreal !! The competition has nothing on the Dodge Ram Trucks !

  • Scott Held February 19, 2012, 5:45 pm

    Hi Kelly,

    The mpg rating is from Transport Canada. Here is a link to the Dodge site that may help in your research.

  • Kelly D. Abbey February 19, 2012, 12:41 pm

    Scott, 28 mpg? WOW! That is incredible but all of my research and talking with sales personnel tells me 19 mpg hwy, 13 mpg city for the 4×4 Sport and 20 mpg why and 14 mpg city for the 4×2 Sport.
    I want to believe the 28 mpg but need to do more research I guess.

  • Steve Seliga February 17, 2012, 7:06 am

    I just ordered a new Ram Sport. After checking out all the other trucks, I decided that Dodge Ram is my truck. I am looking forward to the delivery date.

  • Scott Held December 29, 2011, 11:44 am

    Hi Mark,

    The rambox option is available on the Sport model. We have several in stock. Not sure if this is unique to Canada.

  • mark December 23, 2011, 5:27 pm

    I wasn’t aware the Sport comes with the Ram box option. Every dealer I spoke to in my area of the East Coast US tells me the Ram Box is NOT an option on the sport. Can you verify that in your review?

Leave a Comment